What is the Registered Traveller Service?

The Registered Traveller Service gives approved members fast-tracked UK border entry.

Approved members will be able to use the UK/EU lanes or e-passport gates if they hold and travel with a biometric card. They will also have access to the faster entry lanes at most large UK city airports and the Brussels, Lille and Paris Eurostar terminals.

Who would benefit from the Registered Traveller Service?

If you are an organisation with a number of Tier 2 employees that are required to travel frequently, the Registered Traveller Service could be a worthwhile investment to minimise valuable time spent queuing at the border, and avoid the repetitive Border Force credibility interview for each visit.

The service can also benefit international Tier 4 students who frequently return home.

How is the UK Registered Traveller Service changing?

The Home Office is implementing a range of changes to the registered traveller scheme.

With effect from June 2019, travellers holding valid passports from the following countries will not need to become members of the Registered Traveller Service to be able to use e-passport gates at the UK border:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • USA

Because of the changes to the e-passport gates, the Home Office is no longer accepting applications from nationals of the above countries for the Registered Traveller Service.

Which nationalities are eligible for the UK Registered Traveller Service?

Currently the Registered Traveller Service has more than 67,000 members, and is available to passport holders from the following countries:

  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Bahamas
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Vatican City State
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
  • Israel
  • Macao Special Administrative Region
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Samoa
  • Seychelles
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Taiwan
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

What is the eligibility criteria for the service?

In addition to holding an e-passport from one of the countries in the scheme, to be eligible for the service, travellers must also be over 18 years of age. They must hold a valid UK visa granting leave to enter or remain (a number of exclusions apply such as EEA family permits) and have visited the UK at least four times in the past two years e.g. for business, education, tourism or medical treatment.

How to apply for the Registered Traveller Service?

To apply, you must undergo advanced security checks via an online application.

You will need your passport number and expiry date to hand, as well as your debit or credit card to pay the fee.

You will typically hear the decision within 10 working days.

How much does it cost to become a Registered Traveller?

It costs £70 to use the service for 1 year.

Renewal for a further 12 month period is £50.

If your application is unsuccessful, you may receive a partial refund of £50.

Do you have a question about business travel to the UK?

We are experienced advisers to businesses and individuals on immigration options, visa application processes and mobility requirements. If you have any queries relating to your immigration needs, please get in touch.