Call 020 7494 0118

Oil and Gas safety awards 2015

Several companies in the petrochemical sector, and their employees, have been nominated for the prestigious Oil and Gas safety awards spanning across 6 categories.

The awards are the brainchild of Oil & Gas UK, the leading representative organisation for the UK offshore oil and gas industry and jointly organised by Oil & Gas UK and Step Change in Safety, with Maersk Oil as principal sponsor.

There were over 100 nominations with the finalists. Nominees were whittled down by previous winners, elected safety representatives and senior leaders from across industry as follows:

Safety Leadership

David Howard, Deputy OIM – Beatrice Alpha, Wood Group PSN
George McGavin, Lead HSE Advisor, Aker Solutions
Vic Retalic, HSES Manager, UK Business Unit, Premier Oil Plc
Safety Representative of the Year
Karen McCombie, Offshore Support Planner, Sodexo
Graeme Ritchie, Roustabout, Safety Representative, Rowan Drilling UK Ltd.
Mark Williams, LOLER focal point/Safety Representative, Petrofac

Innovation in Safety

BG Group and Amec Foster Wheeler

Workforce Engagement

Danny Savage and Willie McComb, Safety Coach and Project Manager, Centrica Energy
Petrofac and Remontowa Shipyard
Paul Redding and the Bruce Offshore Platform Team, BP

Occupational Health & Hygiene

Amec Foster Wheeler
Rowan Drilling UK Limited
Total E&P UK

Sharing and Learning

Nexen Petroleum UK Limited

Robert Paterson, Health and Safety Director with Oil & Gas UK, said:

“We received some fantastic nominations for our awards which celebrate the outstanding efforts of workers and companies in ensuring the best safety practice in the workplace,” he said. “Even during these difficult times for the industry, safety remains at the forefront of operations and our awards help demonstrate that.”

Les Linklater, executive director, Step Change in Safety, added:

“It is only right that we continue to celebrate the efforts made by committed individuals and organisations who are seeking to maintain and improve the safety of the North Sea, despite the challenges the industry is facing. To be nominated by your peers for playing your part is recognition in itself, and every finalist should be proud of reaching this next stage.”

The winners of each category will be announced at the Oil and Gas award ceremony at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference on Wednesday 29 April.

We wish them all the best of luck!!!

Share this article on:
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin

Table of Contents

You might also like...

Need advice?

Contact our experts:

020 7494 0118

or complete the form below